Getting Back on Track

Sunday, Sunday, Sunday! It’s Sunday of a four day weekend for me, thank God, and it’s time to get back on track. Last night I went over to my friend Steph’s house for wine and cheese and general shenanigans, and oh my gosh. We sang, danced, ate, and drank until about 2AM. Needless to say, I don’t feel at the top of my game this morning.

Much like the start of a new month, or a new year, the start of a new week is typically the time when people say they’re going to “get back on track” with their diet, exercise, household chores, etc. The weekend, especially a nice long weekend, presents itself as an opportunity to let loose and stray from our routine. Last night was no exception for me. While I had a lot of fun, I don’t care for that general “ugh” feeling the morning after a late night of wine and food. So, today, I’m getting back on track. Here’s how I typically get back into the swing of things after a crazy weekend:

  1. Get out of bed! When I drink, I usually don’t sleep in very well. Something about the sugar I’ve consumed just keeps me up. I’ll wake up naturally around 7 or 8 and while my instinct is to continue sleeping, I fight that and rally. I know that if I get out of bed and get going, I’ll maybe start to feel better.
  2. Get active. My dog, a pointer-lab-pit mix, is a pretty active dude. He doesn’t need a walk every morning, but it sets a good tone for his day and mine. If I’ve had a late night of drinking and snacking, it helps me to get up and get outside. The fresh air, the walking, and the attempts to keep the dog calm while we walk, generally snap me out of a funk.
  3. HYDRATE! Back in college I thought the best cure for a late night (drinking or studying) was to pound coffee. Well, my friends, that may help for a little while but it doesn’t last. I find that if I hit the water game hard from the moment I wake up, I flush the nastiness out of my system. Plus, hydrating in general is just a good idea.
  4. Make a plan. If I have a plan or at least half of a plan of attack for the day, I wake up with a purpose. I know there are things I have to do and times I have to do them by, so lolly-gagging isn’t really an option. Not only that, but having a schedule keeps me from giving into the instinct to lie on the couch and watch Netflix all day. Sometimes that’s okay, but it’s pretty crappy to find you’ve wasted an entire day on feeling like…well, crap. Last night I told myself I would go to 10:30 AM yoga (also paid for a drop-in package, so I gotta use my classes!) and then lunch with a friend right after. This little plan helped me to get up by 8, walk the dog, and write this post! And not give in to the seductive glow my couch seems to be giving off right now…
  5. Mind over matter. I’m not new to the “party all night” game. Sure, I’ve never had a Hangover scenario happen to me, but I’ve had some roooough nights. Half the battle for me the next day, though, is to mind over matter everything. Yes, I may feel like garbage, but I’m going to will my way through the day. Once I mind over matter my morning, I usually feel alright by midday. Sometimes I don’t, but hey, self-imposed pain is no one’s fault but my own!

While I’m certainly not encouraging a regular crazy late night, I definitely don’t discourage a fun time with great friends. Just know that there are ways to combat the symptoms of a late night kitchen dance party and get your life back on track! Have a happy healthy Sunday, son!

Leave a Reply

